A Meditation on Political Division in America

The songs in this concept album pose more questions than answers. (It was almost titled “The Book of Questions” in homage to Neruda’s book of short poems.)

A patriotic impulse gave rise to these original songs and choice of covers. In the long run, democracy and human rights will (probably!) survive in our country. In the short term, it's not looking good, with so many powerful figures trying to profit from making things worse. Solutions sometimes seem a long way off. Maybe questions - real questions that invite conversation, connection, and listening - can be a place to start. Maybe music can play a role too. The future is still ours to write.

PW: vocals, acoustic + electric guitars, lap steel, lap slide, dobro
Deborah Latz: vocals
Gretchen Schultz: vocals
John Conahan: keyboards, organ, piano
Chico Huff: bass
Matt Scarano: drums and percussion

All songs by Pat Wictor except "Days of Decision" (Phil Ochs), "Señor (Tales of Yankee Power)" (Bob Dylan), and "The Way of the World" (Mose Allison).

Produced by Pat Wictor
Mixed and Mastered by Glenn Barratt at
Morning Star Studios, East Norriton, PA
Recorded by Glenn Barratt and Dave Schonauer, Morning Star Studios

Graphic Design by Leslie Lee